Things to know about Jammu and Kashmir Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

The BJP-led NDA is leading in 355 seats and Congress and its allies in 90 at 7:10pm, according to trends.

In Jammu province, however, BJP has continued to maintain its grip and bagged both the parliamentary constituencies — Jammu and Udhampur.

With 46.2 per cent vote share in its kitty, the BJP on Thursday emerged as the largest party in this Muslim majority state, winning three out of total six Lok Sabha seats.  The party has created history with its vote share increasing from 32.4 per cent in 2014. 

In Ladakh, too, BJP has been able to trounce Sajjad Kargili, an independent candidate, who was in a direct contest with the saffron party candidate. Kargili is being supported by both PDP and NC.

National Conference (NC), headed by Farooq Abdullah, has bagged all the three parliamentary constituencies in the Kashmir valley. Earlier, all the three seats were held by People’s Democratic Party (PDP) headed by the former chief minister of the state Mehbooba Mufti. This electoral rout for the PDP comes in the wake of rise in violence in the valley and a backlash from the voters after PDP aligned with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 2015 to form the state government. The move to form the government with the BJP had not gone well with the people in the valley.

Here are interesting things to know about Jammu and Kashmir Lok Sabha Election Results 2019:

    1. With BJP winning both the Jammu seats, it looks like the strategy to consolidate the secular vote hasn’t worked in the region.  To counter the BJP, NC and PDP had supported Congress in Jammu.
    2. In Jammu province, the sitting MP Jitendra Singh of the BJP was in a direct fight against Congress’ Vikramaditya Singh in the Udhampur, a Lok Sabha seat which was earlier held by Ghulam Nabi Azad of the Congress. The other parliamentary constituency in the region is Jammu where the sitting BJP MP Jugal Kishore Sharma of BJP won against Raman Bhalla of Congress.
    3. An interesting twist in the Jammu elections was added by Lal Singh, a BJP leader and a minister in the last PDP-BJP government. Singh resigned after he and another minister stirred controversy by addressing a rally in support of the Kathua rape suspects.
    4. About 8000 voters opted for the none of the above (NOTA) button in the Baramulla constituency of Jammu and Kashmir which was finally won by National Conference’s Mohammad Akbar Lone.
      Jammu seat polled 2545 NOTA votes – more than 14 candidates out of the total of 24 contestants.
      Similarly, the official said, in the Srinagar constituency, 1566 voters chose NOTA. It was higher than five of the 12 candidates in the fray
    5. n the parliamentary elections the voting turnout was 72.19 percent in Jammu, 70.2 percent in Udhampur, 8.75 percent in Anantnag, 14.8 percent in Srinagar, 35 percent in Baramullah and 64 percent voting in Ladakh.
    6. This is the fourth win in a Lok Sabha election for the 83-year-old three time former chief minister Farooq Abdullah , who has so far lost an election only once in his 42-year political career since his debut in 1980.
    7. PDP President Mehbooba has conceded defeat by congratulating NC and maintaining that the people of the state have every right to be angry with her and that she accepts the verdict with humility.

7. At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Jammu and Kashmir had a total of 7,183,129 registered electors. Of these, 3,571,537 voted on 9,633 polling stations to choose their representatives in the parliament from among 77 candidates.

8. BJP candidate Dr Jitendra Singh won Udhampur seat for the second time with a margin of 3,57,252 votes while BJP leader Jugal Kishore Sharma retained Jammu seat with 3,02,875 votes and Jamyang Tsering Namgyal made his maiden entry in the Lok Sabha winning Ladakh constituency with 10,930 votes.

[With inputs from online reports]

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top