MPs in Rajya Sabha can now speak Dogri

From the upcoming Monsoon session of the Rajya Sabha, MPs will have an option of speaking in Dogri or any of the 22 scheduled languages in the Upper House.

The Upper House is going to provide facility for simultaneous interpretation in five more languages of Kashmiri, Dogri, Santhali, Konkani and Sindhi, in addition to the earlier accepted languages.About Dogri Language

It is worth mentioning that Dogri is one of the 22 languages that have been listed in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution.

Expressing his happiness, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu says,

“I have always felt that mother tongue is the natural medium to convey our feelings and thoughts without any retention…That is why I was keen to have simultaneous interpretation facility for all the 22 scheduled languages”

The Rajya Sabha Secretariat had made special efforts to identify, select and train the interpreters in these five languages.

Read also: How much do you know about the Dogri Folk Dances?

Rajya Sabha had earlier established simultaneous interpretation service of 12 of the 22 scheduled languages, that include Bengali, Assamese, Gujarati, Malayalam, Hindi, Kannada, Telegu, Oriya, Tamil, Urdu, Punjabi and Marathi.

Spread the love
error: Content is protected !!
Scroll to Top