It’s about Jammu Municipality

The Municipality of State of Jammu and Kashmir was established after the reforms under taken by Lord Rippan in the first quarter of 19th Century. The development of Modern Municipal Committees of the State was initiated by First Municipal Act of 1886 A.D. followed by amended act of 1889. Under this Act two Municipalities of Jammu and Srinagar were established for the first time.

Jammu Municipality was first constituted in Phagun 1942 Bk(March 1886 A.D.). In 1893 A.D a separate department known as Municipal Administration and Jails was setup

The Provision of elective element in the Municipalities was introduced in the Year 1930. this was done with the enactment  of Jammu and Kashmir regulation 1913.

Jammu Municipal Corporation

Next step towards the development of Municipality in the state was the passage of J & K Municipal Act 1941. A new regulation placed the Municipalities under the charge of Minister and they are provided with paid President and other staff like Secretary, Health Officer, Revenue Officer etc.

In the 51st year of Republic of India the State Legislature passed the J & K Municipal Corporation Act 2000 for the capital cities of Jammu and Srinagar which got the Status of Jammu Municipal Corporation vide SRO 46 dated 18/2/2003. Subsequently the limits of Jammu Municipal Corporation was extended from 32 sq. km to 112 sq. km vide SRO 291 dated 5/9/2003.

The Old City comprising of 23 wards, was divided into 48 wards and 23 new wards were added thus raising the total number of wards 71, with the upgradation to the Status of Jammu Municipal Corporation the city has been divided into 71 wards.

Duly elected Jammu Municipal Council was superseded by the Government in 1960, 1975 and lastly 1983.

Since Independence the Elections of Jammu Municipality have taken place four times only i.e., 1956, 1972, 1980 and 2005.

Spread the love
error: Content is protected !!
Scroll to Top