Jammu and Srinagar among 30 chosen to be developed as smart cities

Jammu Winter capital, and Srinagar Summer Capital are among the 30 urban centres that were chosen  today to be developed as smart cities.

Today’s list takes the total number of cities selected so far under the National Democratic Alliance government’s flagship urban modernisation programme to 90. The remaining 10 cities are likely to selected by early next year.

Thirty new cities were added to the Centre’s Smart Cities Mission and total investment of Rs. 57,393 crore was announced by Union Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu on Friday, taking the total number of smart cities to 90.Smart City Jammu & Srinagar

How smart cities were selected

The process of selecting smart cities involves two stages. The first occurs at the level of states, which select their own candidates following a competition. The nominated cities then compete with each other nationally.

The distribution of smart cities across India is determined by a formula worked out by the urban development ministry, which weighs equally a state’s population and its number of cities.

The Centre will provide Rs 48,000 crore over the five years for the smart cities mission. A matching fund will be contributed by a combination of states and the private sector. Each city will get Rs 100 crore per year.

Work on new projects has already started in 20 cities that were selected in January 2016, but the 40 cities that were selected in July and September haven’t started yet.

We can hope heritage of both the cities will also be restored so that it can be cherished by the city’s people and explored by travellers who visit Jammu and Srinagar for Pilgrimage, scenic beauty and rich culture. 

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top