New subjects and streams sanctioned in Government college in Jammu & Kashmir

After a long wait, the State Higher Education Department has finally introduced new subjects and streams in 36 Government Degree Colleges in the remote and far-flung areas of J&K.

Sources claimed that nearly 40 new Government Degree Colleges had been opened in the state since 2008 but the Higher Education Department had failed to introduce new subjects or streams in these institutions. It eventually resulted in the overcrowding of government colleges in Jammu district due to the migration of students from far-flung areas for seeking admission in the winter capital courses colleges jammu kashmir

They said there were a total of 36 Government Degree Colleges in the state, including 11 in Jammu division, where new subjects and streams were introduced.

In Jammu division, Dogri and commerce subjects were introduced in Government Degree College, Ramban, while Urdu and English subjects were introduced at the postgraduate level in Government Degree College, Doda.

In Udhampur college, functional English, philosophy, geology, BSc honours (botany, zoology, physics and chemistry) and integrated courses in botany, zoology and commerce were introduced. Meanwhile, bio-chemistry, BCA and integrated courses were introduced in Women’s College, Udhampur. Also, Kashmiri and sociology were introduced in Government Degree College, Marwah while in Kishtwar, Kashmiri and integrated courses in Urdu and Dogri were introduced.

Meanwhile, job-oriented courses like hotel management and tourism, banking insurance and retail management have been introduced in Government Degree College, Bhaderwah. Persian and computer applications courses were introduced at the postgraduate level besides philosophy at the undergraduate level.

At Government Degree College, Nowshera, geography was introduced on the demand of students while in the colleges in Poonch and Rajouri, a course in Arabic language was introduced at the postgraduate level.

Similarly, new subjects and streams were introduced in various Government Degree Colleges in Kashmir division. These places include Nobra, DH Pora, Kupwara, Sogam, Kargil, Shopian, Handwara, Anantnag, Beerwah, Kilam, Charar-e-Sharief, Kokernag, Pampore and Women’s College, Nawakadal.

“Introduction of new subjects/streams is a welcome step by the government. It was the need of the hour. However, now there is a need to upgrade infrastructure like constructing permanent building, recruitment of regular faculty and non-gazetted staff besides other facilities,” an official said.There are total 97 Government Degree Colleges in J&K, including 47 in Jammu division, 46 in Kashmir division and four in Leh-Ladakh.

(Originally posted by Tribune India)
Spread the love
error: Content is protected !!
Scroll to Top